Situated in the French capital, the Rodin Museum first opened to the public in 1919. Approximately 300 of Rodin’s works can be admired by the many visitors in the Hôtel Biron, a grand mansion adorned in Rococo style that is situated within three hectares of surrounding parkland. From 1908 onwards, Rodin used the Hôtel Biron as his workshop.
Over the last couple of years, the 18th century building has undergone a major renovation to create a more pleasant visitor experience that meets current technical standards. The museum reopened on the 12th of November 2015, which coincides with the 175th birthday of the famous French sculptor.
For this project Meyvaert was selected to manufacture, transport and install display cases and museum furniture. The open design of the oak bases allows the viewer to simultaneously admire the beautiful oak floor, thus creating a cohesive feel in the exhibition spaces between the showcases and the building interior. Sculptures are delicately presented on top of the bases, many of which are covered with glass cube cases. Overall, the renovation has allowed more than 600 works to be exhibited in over 18 rooms.
Atelier de l’île
+300 podiums and display cases
Photos by Hervé Abbadie
Courtesy of Zumtobel